Fwd: Your message to cctalk awaits moderator approval

From: der Mouse <mouse_at_Rodents.Montreal.QC.CA>
Date: Fri Oct 24 01:43:04 2003

> FYI to the list...

> I did NOT attempt to send the message referenced in the
> attached bounce notice. It appears that some spammer is forging
> my domain ID again.

> If the moderator is reading this, please do NOT let the spam
> spewage post.

>> Your mail to 'cctalk' with the subject
>> Decrease your CPU temperature up to 20C!
>> [...]

Neither did the rest of us. Look at the headers: the "message held for
moderator" message was sent not to you (or me), but to
classiccmp_at_classiccmp.org (to which I assume you are subscribed). Why
classiccmp accepts mail from cctalk-bounces is a mystery; perhaps it's
related to the message having been generated locally to classiccmp.org.

I discovered this myself only after hitting the "cancel this post" URL,
to save the moderator the bother, assuming it was me that had been
forged, only to discover it was invalid (presumably because someone had
already hit it, or a moderator had already binned the message).
Looking more closely, I noticed the To:....

/~\ The ASCII der Mouse
\ / Ribbon Campaign
 X Against HTML mouse_at_rodents.montreal.qc.ca
/ \ Email! 7D C8 61 52 5D E7 2D 39 4E F1 31 3E E8 B3 27 4B
Received on Fri Oct 24 2003 - 01:43:04 BST

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.0 : Fri Oct 10 2014 - 23:36:23 BST