OT mail spam question

From: Paul Koning <pkoning_at_equallogic.com>
Date: Sat Oct 30 18:01:54 2004

>>>>> "Vintage" == Vintage Computer Festival <vcf_at_siconic.com> writes:

 Vintage> I just moved my mail server to my internal office network.
 Vintage> The IP block I've been assigned apparently used to be used
 Vintage> for dynamic DSL users. The problem is, at some point
 Vintage> someone used one or more of these IP addresses to send out
 Vintage> spam, enough so that my entire Class C block is blacklisted
 Vintage> in some database.

 Vintage> I'm getting reject messages occasionally when I try to send
 Vintage> someone e-mail, like so:

 Vintage> ----- Transcript of session follows ----- ... while talking
 Vintage> to smtp.secureserver.net.:
>>>> RCPT To:<mike_at_sccpc.com>
 Vintage> <<< 553 66.120.4.* mail rejected due to excessive spam (Spam
 Vintage> received from 550 5.1.1
 Vintage> <mike_at_sccpc.com>... User unknown

 Vintage> It's a very small percentage of my mail, but it's keeping me
 Vintage> from responding to people sending me inquiries in some
 Vintage> instances.

 Vintage> How the *hell* do I track down what fuckwit is blacklisting
 Vintage> my address?

That won't necessarily help. Some of these blocker "services" are run
by selfrighteous zealots who think that some spam messages from an ISP
customer is sufficient grounds to blacklist ALL mail from ALL
customers of that ISP. And they don't seem to be amenable to reason.

The best solution is not to communicate by people who support such
fools; once they switch to more sensible spam prevention tools,
they'll be able to communicate again.

Received on Sat Oct 30 2004 - 18:01:54 BST

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.0 : Fri Oct 10 2014 - 23:37:25 BST